The Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957


The Delhi Municipal Corporation Act of 1957 consolidates and amends the law relating to the Municipal Corporations of North, East and South Delhi.
TEAL has extracted and simplified for you those provisions given in the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act of 1957, which relate to the taxation and building of residential properties.

Chapter VIII- Taxation

One of the factors in calculating the property tax on a property is its location. Following is the category-wise list of residential colonies. Property taxes (and circle rates) decrease from Colony A to Colony G.

Following is a list of category-wise colonies for your reference-

Category A

Anand Niketan
Basant Lok DDA Complex
Bhikaji Cama Place
Friends Colony
Friends Colony East
Friends Colony West
Golf Links
Kalindi Colony
Lodi Road Industrial Area
Maharani Bagh
Nehru Place
New Friends Colony
Panchshila Park
Rajendra Place
Shanti Niketan
Sunder Nagar
Vasant Vihar

Category B

Anand Lok
Andrews Ganj
Defence Colony
Greater Kailash-I
Greater Kailash-II
Greater Kailash-III
Greater Kailash-IV
Green Park
Gulmohar Park
Hamdard Nagar
Hauz Khas
Maurice Nagar
Munirka Vihar
Neeti Bagh
Nehru Enclave
Nizamuddin East
Pamposh Enclave
Panchsheel Park
Safdarjang Enclave
Sarvapriya Vihar
Sarvodaya Enclave

Category C

Chittaranjan Park
Civil Lines
East of Kailash
East Patel Nagar
Jhandewalan Area
Kailash Hill
Lajpat Nagar-I
Lajpat Nagar-II
Lajpat Nagar-III
Lajpat Nagar-IV
Malviya Nagar
Masjid Moth DDA Flats
Munirka DDA Flats
Nizamuddin West
Panchsheel Extension
Punjabi Bagh
Som Vihar
Vasant Kunj

Category D

Anand Vihar
East End Apartments
Gagan Vihar
Hudson Line
Indraprastha Extension
Jangpura Extension
Jasola Vihar
Karol Bagh
Kirti Nagar
Mayur Vihar
New Rajinder Nagar
Old Rajinder Nagar
Rajouri Garden

Category E

Chandni Chowk
East End Enclave
Gagan Vihar Extension
Hauz Qazi
Jama Masjid
Kashmere Gate
Khirki Extension
Madhuban Enclave
Mahavir Nagar
Moti Nagar
Pahar Ganj
Pandav Nagar
Sarai Rihilla

Category F

Anand Parbat
Arjun Nagar
Daya Basti
Dilshad Colony
Dishad Garden
BR Amdedkar Colony
Ganesh Nagar
Hari Nagar
Madhu Vihar
Majnu Ka Tila
Mukheree Park Extension
Nand Nagri
Uttam Nagar
Zakir Nagar (Okhla)

Category G

Ambedkar Nagar (Jahangirpuri)
Amdedkar Nagar (East Delhi)
Amber Vihar
Dabri Extension
Dashrath Puri
Hari Nagar Extension
Vivek Vihar Phase-I
Tagore Garden

Section 114- Components and rates of property tax

Section 115- Premises in respect of which property taxes are to be levied

Section 116- Determination of rateable value of lands and buildings assessable to property taxes

Section 120- Incidence of property taxes

Section 121- Apportionment of liability for property taxes when the premises assessed are let or sublet

Section 122- Recovery of property taxes from occupiers

Section 128- Notice of transfers

Section 129- Notice of erection of building

Section 130- Notice of removal of building

Section 131- Power of Commissioner to call for information and returns and to enter and inspect premises

Section 132- Premises owned by, or let to, two or more persons in severalty to be ordinarily assessed as one property

Section 133- Assessment in case of amalgamation of premises

Section 134- Power of Commissioner to assess separately out-houses and portions of buildings

Section 135- Power of Commissioner to employ valuers

Section 147- Duty on Transfer of Property

Section 149- Tax on building applications

Chapter X- Properties and contracts

Chapter XVI- Building Regulations

Section 332- Prohibition of building without sanction

Section 333- Erection of building

Section 334- Applications for additions to, or repairs of, buildings

Section 335- Conditions of valid notice

Section 336- Sanction or refusal of building or work

Section 337- When the building work may be proceeded with

Section 338- Sanction accorded under misrepresentation

Section 339- Buildings at corners of streets

Section 340- Provisions as to buildings and works on either side of new streets

Section 341-Period for completion of building or work

Section 342- Prohibition against use of inflammable materials for building, etc., without permission

Section 343- Order of demolition and stoppage of buildings and works in certain cases and appeal

Section 344- Order of stoppage of buildings or works in certain cases

Section 345- Power of Commissioner to require alteration of work

Section 345 A- Power to seal unauthorised constructions.

Section 346A- Power to seal unauthorised constructions

Section 346- Completion certificates

Section 347- Restrictions on user of buildings

Section 347 A- Appellate Tribunal

Section 347 B- Appeals against certain orders or notices issued under the Act

Section 347 C- Procedure of the Appellate Tribunal

Section 347 D- Appeal against orders of Appellate Tribunal

Section 348- Removal of dangerous buildings

Section 349- Power to order building to be vacated in certain circumstances

Section 427- Submission of improvement scheme to the Corporation for approval and to the Central Government for sanction

Link to original regulation